Royal Lytham & St Annes



The Lytham Trophy - 30th April, 1st and 2nd May 2021

Entries for this year's competition are being taken both online and by entry form.

If you are a player based at a club in England, with a England Golf Membership Number (CHD number which will be on your handicap certificate), you are encouraged to enter online.  Payment is taken at the time of entry, and any entries without payment will be removed from the competition automatically.

Online Entry for those WITH an EGU CDH ID.

If you are a member at a club from Scotland, Ireland or Wales, or any international entry, you must download the entry form as normal, providing payment details on there.

Download Entry Form

CLOSING DATE FOR ENTRIES:  12:00 Noon on Monday 22nd March 2021



In the 1960's members of the Club felt that there was a gap in the amateur golf calendar. Tournaments were not as common as they are now and these were often held in the south of England and it was thought that a 72 hole strokeplay event in the North West was needed. The National Unions and leading players were approached for support and the first event in 1965 produced a tie between Clive Clark and M.F.Bonallack.

The Lytham Trophy is held each year at the beginning of May. One round being played on the Friday and Saturday and the final two rounds, for those that have made the cut, on the Sunday. Being the first major event in the amateur golf calendar each year it attracts attention from all the national selectors.

Every winner takes away a replica of the handsome "Sputnick" Trophy which was donated by members subscriptions. All winners have been international golfers of the highest quality and many have gone on to be successful professionals.

In 1999 the Lytham Trophy was won for the first time by a player from Continental Europe – Tino Schuster from Germany.

In 2010 for the third time we had an Irish International as the winner – Paul Cutler from Portstewart.

In 2011 the winner was much more local - Jack Senior from Heysham Golf Club.

2012 winner - Dan Huizing (Netherlands)

2013 winner - Albert Eckhart (Finland)

2014 winner - Thriston Lawrence (South Africa)

2015 winner - Marcus Kinhult (Sweden)

2016 winner - Alfie Plant (England)

2017 winner - Jack Singh Brar (England)

2018 winner - Matthew Jordan (England)

2019 winner - Joshua McMahon (England)

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.